Histoire

HISTORY

The history of Banderas Bay and Puerto Valarta

La baie de Banderas, Mexique

A brief summary of the history of Banderas Bay and Puerto Vallarta: La baie de Banderas a été découvert par les Espagnols au début des années 1500. Le nom Banderas provient du fait que les groupes indigènes conquis porteraient nombreux drapeaux et bannières avec eux dans la bataille. Dans l'année 1525, et Punta Mita, qui est l'extrémité nord de la baie de Banderas, Francisco Cortes de Buenaventura conduit 100 Soldats espagnols dans la région de conquérir les peuples autochtones. Quand ils sont arrivés, ils portaient des quatre grandes bannières ainsi que l'image de la Vierge de Guadalupe sur un grand fanion. Peu de temps après l'arrivée sur le rivage, il s'est vite rendu compte qu'ils étaient plus nombreux que par le 20,000 Wow Faux (les populations autochtones de la région) qui s'est avéré pour défendre leurs terres. Un moine espagnol peur se mit à genoux devant le Aztatlan, exposant par conséquent la grande image de la Sainte Vierge directement derrière lui. Rayons immenses de la lumière du soleil éclairaient la Vierge. L'éclat même de la lumière qui réfléchie par l'image à la fois stupéfait et terrifié la Aztatlan, et ils ont immédiatement soumis à l'espagnol. Les Espagnols eux-mêmes convaincus que tout cela était en effet un miracle.

Tout au long du 16ème siècle, aventuriers, marins et les explorateurs ont utilisé la zone baie de Banderas comme un pit-stop de longs voyages. La région autour de la baie a également servi comme un repaire idéal pour les pirates. Plus à l'intérieur espagnol a saisi les terres indigènes et asservi les peuples autochtones qui travaillent dur. Tristement, au cours de la première 100 ans d'occupation espagnole environ 90% de la population indigène a été anéanti à cause de la variole, rougeole, scarlatine, la diphtérie et la grippe.

Throughout the 17th and 18th centuries, argent et d'or ont été extraites en haut dans les villages de montagne de San Sebastian del Oeste, Talpa de Allende, et Mascota. Peu à peu, sur l'agriculture de temps est devenu moins d'un foyer dans la région. Comme les activités minières ont augmenté, tout comme la demande de sel pour le traitement des métaux précieux. Dans 1851, un batelier de 19 ans de Cihuatlan nommé Guadalupe Sanchez a commencé à importer de grandes quantités de sel des îles Marias en plage de Los Muertos dans la baie de Banderas. Comme entreprise prospère, Sanchez a trouvé lui-même passer beaucoup de temps dans cette belle région éloignée qu'il a décidé de s'établir dans la région avec son épouse et plusieurs compagnons. Peu à peu, une petite ville au point que Sanchez nommé Las Penas. Le port établi il a été appelé Puerto Las Penas.

Au début du 19e siècle, lorsque les États-Unis ont découvert l'argent, the price of this metal plummeted and so did the profitability of mining in the Puerto Vallarta area. Agriculture once again become the focus of displaced workers, spécifiquement dans la vallée fertile de la rivière Ameca dans la région maintenant connue comme Nuevo Vallarta. Comme la région manquait d'une infrastructure suffisante des routes de Las Penas, l'abondance des produits agricoles récoltés ont été expédiés par bateau vers d'autres régions du pays.

History of Banderas Bay and Puerto Vallarta: Night of the Iguana movie filmed in Puerto Vallarta

Nuit de l'iguane filmé à Puerto Vallarta, Mexique

En raison de l'importance croissante de Puerto Las Penas, dans 1918 une municipalité a été formé et le port a été rebaptisé Puerto Vallarta en l'honneur du gouverneur de Jalisco, Ignacio L. Vallarta. By the 1963, mot de la beauté de Puerto Vallarta commence à se répandre aux États-Unis, plus particulièrement à la suite des usines de potins entrer dans overdrive sur grand stars d'Hollywood Deborah Kerr, Ava Gardner, Sue Lyon et Richard Burton sur place à Puerto Vallarta pour filmer le film Nuit de l'iguane qui a été dirigé par le célèbre réalisateur américain John Huston. Pendant le tournage, Elizabeth Taylor et Richard Burton, chacun de ceux qui étaient mariés à d'autres, commencé une affaire romantique vigoureux qui a fait les manchettes dans le monde entier. Richard Burton a acheté Casa Kimberly, un refuge d'amour, pour lui-même et Elizabeth. Paparazzi étaient sur place pour enregistrer tous les détails juteux de l'affaire extra-conjugale passe, la rumeur qui célèbre auteur Tennessee Williams a été souvent vu sur le plateau avec son caniche choyé que l'on croyait avoir souffert d'un coup de soleil. En raison de la présence d'une liste de célébrités à Puerto Vallarta, the city received an incredible amount of international media attention. demandes de Tourisme du grand public ont littéralement explosé durant la nuit. Il semblait que tout le monde voulait en savoir plus sur ce lieu exotique excitant.

En réponse à la forte demande de tourisme, à partir de 1965 à 1971, Francisco Medina Ascencio, gouverneur de l'État de Jalisco, progressé avec une vision pour créer le développement et l'infrastructure nécessaires pour mouler Puerto Vallarta en une destination touristique moderne. Avec le soutien ferme du président Gustavo Diaz Mexique Oradaz, Puerto Vallarta est devenue officiellement une ville et a reçu les ressources financières dont il a besoin pour construire des ponts, routes, et un aéroport international, ainsi que mettre en électricité et le service téléphonique.

History of Banderas Bay and Puerto Vallarta: A remnant in Mismaloya from the film Night of the Iguana in Puerto Vallarta

Un vestige de la célèbre Nuit de film de l'iguane en Mismaloya.

La population de Puerto Vallarta continue d'augmenter de façon spectaculaire chaque année les touristes deviennent résidents et les expatriés. Bien que les expatriés à Puerto Vallarta viennent de tous les coins du globe, it’s primarily Americans and Canadians who choose this incredible location as their retirement destination. En fait, seulement des années 2000 à 2010, la population résidente de Puerto Vallarta a augmenté de 71,000 habitants à un enregistrement 255,000 personnes dans 2010. Et en tant que membres de la génération du baby-boom continuent de prendre sa retraite en grand nombre, Puerto Vallarta continuera de voir sa petite croissance de la population. En plus de ses résidents, un flux constant de touristes remplir l'année de zone. Aujourd'hui Puerto Vallarta est la troisième destination de vacances et hôte du Mexique à plus de 2.5 million de visiteurs chaque année.

Amical Imprimer, PDF et Email

History

HISTORY

The history of Banderas Bay and Puerto Valarta

Banderas Bay, Mexico

A brief summary of the history of Banderas Bay and Puerto Vallarta: Banderas Bay was discovered by the Spanish in the early 1500s. The name Banderas originated from the fact that conquered native groups would carry numerous flags and banners with them into battle. In the year 1525, at Punta Mita, which is the northernmost tip of Banderas Bay, Francisco Cortes de Buenaventura led 100 Spanish soldiers into the region to conquer the native people. When they arrived they were carrying four big banners as well as the image of the Virgin of Guadalupe on a large pennant. Soon after arrival on shore it was quickly realized that they were outnumbered by the 20,000 Aztatlan (indigenous people of the area) who turned out to defend their lands.  A frightened Spanish friar went down on his knees in front of the Aztatlan, consequently exposing the large image of the Holy Virgin directly behind him. Immense rays of bright sunlight illuminated the Virgin. The sheer brilliance of the light which reflected off the image both stunned and terrified the Aztatlan, and they immediately submitted to the Spanish. The Spaniards convinced themselves that this whole thing was indeed a miracle.

Throughout the 16th century, adventurers, sailors and explorers used the Banderas Bay area as a pit-stop on long voyages. The region around the bay also served as a convenient hideout for pirates. Farther inland the Spanish seized native lands and enslaved the hard-working indigenous people. Sadly, during the first 100 years of Spanish occupation approximately 90% of the native population was wiped out due to smallpox, measles, scarlet fever, diphtheria and influenza.

Throughout the 17th and 18th centuries, silver and gold were mined high up in the mountain towns of San Sebastian del Oeste, Talpa de Allende, and Mascota. Gradually over time agriculture became less of a focus in the area. As mining activities increased, so did the demand for salt to process the precious metals. In 1851, a 19-year-old boatman from Cihuatlan named Guadalupe Sanchez began importing large quantities of salt from the Marias Islands into Los Muertos Beach in Banderas Bay. As business prospered, Sanchez found himself spending so much time in this beautiful remote region that he decided to establish himself in the area along with his wife and several companions. Gradually a small town developed that Sanchez named Las Penas. The port established there was called Puerto Las Penas.

In the early 19th century when the United States discovered silver, the price of this metal plummeted and so did the profitability of mining in the Puerto Vallarta area.  Agriculture once again become the focus of displaced workers, specifically in the fertile valley of the Ameca River in the area now known as Nuevo Vallarta. As the region lacked a sufficient infrastructure of roads out of Las Penas, the abundance of harvested agricultural products were shipped by boat to other parts of the country.

History of Banderas Bay and Puerto Vallarta: Night of the Iguana movie filmed in Puerto Vallarta

Night of the Iguana filmed in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

Because of the growing importance of Puerto Las Penas, in 1918 a Municipality was formed and the port was renamed Puerto Vallarta in honor of the Governor of Jalisco, Ignacio L. Vallarta. By the 1963, word of the beauty of Puerto Vallarta began to spread to the United States, most specifically as the result of gossip mills going into overdrive about big Hollywood stars Deborah Kerr, Ava Gardner, Sue Lyon and Richard Burton on location in Puerto Vallarta to film the movie Night of the Iguana which was being directed by famous American director John Huston. During filming Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton, each who were married to others, started a lusty romantic affair that made headlines around the world. Richard Burton purchased Casa Kimberly, a love hideaway, for himself and Elizabeth. Paparazzi were on hand to record every juicy detail from the extra-marital affair going on, to the rumor that famous author Tennessee Williams was often seen on set with his pampered poodle that was believed to have suffered from sun stroke. Because of the presence of A-list celebrities in Puerto Vallarta, the city received an incredible amount of international media attention. Tourism demands from the general public literally exploded overnight. It seemed as though everyone wanted to know more about this exciting exotic location.

In response to the heavy demands of tourism, from 1965 to 1971, Francisco Medina Ascencio, governor of the state of Jalisco, moved forward with a vision to create the development and infrastructure needed to mold Puerto Vallarta into a modern tourist destination. With firm backing by Mexico President Gustavo Diaz Oradaz, Puerto Vallarta officially became a city and received the financial resources it needed to build bridges, roads, and an international airport, as well as bring in electrical power and telephone service.

History of Banderas Bay and Puerto Vallarta: A remnant in Mismaloya from the film Night of the Iguana in Puerto Vallarta

A remnant from the famous film Night of the Iguana in Mismaloya.

The population of Puerto Vallarta continues to increase dramatically each year as tourists become residents and expats. Although expats in Puerto Vallarta hail from all corners of the globe, it’s primarily Americans and Canadians who choose this incredible location as their retirement destination. In fact, just from the years 2000 to 2010, the resident population of Puerto Vallarta increased by 71,000 inhabitants to a recorded 255,000 people in 2010. And as members of the Baby Boom Generation continue retiring in great numbers, Puerto Vallarta will continue to see its expat population rise. In addition to its residents, a steady stream of tourists fill the area year round. Today Puerto Vallarta is Mexico’s third largest vacation destination and host to more than 2.5 million visitors each year.