Ecology and Wildlife

ECOLOGY AND WILDLIFE

La Sierra Madre Occidental est une chaîne de montagnes escarpées qui au Mexique s'étend du Rio Grande de Santiago, dans l'État de Jalisco, nord par plusieurs autres états mexicains occidentaux, y compris Nayarit. Cette écorégion possède certains des plus riches en biodiversité en Amérique du Nord, et contient les deux tiers du bois sur pied au Mexique. Il y a 23 différentes espèces de pins et de 200 espèces de chêne. Tropical and temperate influences converge in this area to provide shelter to a unique and rich ecology and wildlife, pour inclure 300 espèces d'orchidées rares, bugainvillea coloré (rouge, pourpre, Orange, blanc), plus que 350 espèces d'oiseaux, beaux papillons de monarque, et un grand nombre de mammifères et de reptiles intéressants.

Ecology and Wildlife in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

La végétation de la jungle dans toute la région de Puerto Vallarta est épaisse et luxuriante, aussi abondant soleil et pluie d'été produits humidité qui nourrit toute la région. Une diversité d'arbres se trouve dans cette zone, comme Amapa, Chilte, Palo Brésil, et produire du bois tropical forte (noyer, parota, Cedar Amapa, printemps) qui peut être utilisé pour fabriquer des canots et des meubles en bois dur. Fruit exotique est également abondante dans cette région pour y inclure la noix de coco, ananas, banane macho, goyave, Guamuchil, mangue, veste fruits, pastèque, et avocat.

Mammifères indigènes de la région comprennent: jaguar, jaguarundi, ours noir, ocelot, margay, Le cerf de Virginie, tatou, blaireau, raton laveur, coati mundi, tamia, souris sylvestre, et le rock Suirrel. Le grizzy mexicaine qui parcouraient ces montagnes sont maintenant pensé pour être éteint de la région, et le loup gris du Mexique est l'une des espèces les plus menacées de la région de ce.

Reptiles et amphibiens florissantes dans cette région comprennent: Green iguana, iguane à queue épineuse, Lézard perlé mexicain, et crocodiles. Il ya au moins trois espèces de serpents à sonnettes d'inclure ridgenose, double repéré, and rock rattlers. Unique and colorful birds of interest are: Amazon Parrots, Perruche verte, Tyran mélancolique, Noir Geai, Yellow-winged Cacique, Fou à pieds bleus, Quiquivi, Vert rayé Brush Finch, Cuivrée Trogon à queue, Trogon à oreilles, Colibri Violet-couronné, Mexicaine Jay, Chouette tachetée, et l'aigle royal.

Ecology and wildlife in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

Dans la baie de Banderas, et l'océan Pacifique qui entoure Puerto Vallarta, la vie marine est abondante. Il ya thon, snapper, vivaneau, marlin bleu, marlin noir, voilier, and seabass. A variety of sea turtles swim the bay, et les rives de la baie de Banderas sont en fait un terrain tortue d'élevage. Le gouvernement a mis en place des conservatoires de tortues et des sites de libération, et des lois strictes sont en place pour protéger ces animaux menacés d'extinction.

La baie de Banderas est une zone de reproduction des dauphins, et par conséquent, il est très fréquent de voir des bouteilles nez, repéré, and dusky dolphins swimming and frolicking about near Puerto Vallarta. Dolphins are very curious, amical, and playful by nature. To the delight of onlookers, dauphins souvent nager avec les bateaux et kayaks. Pour visualiser et d'interagir avec les dauphins dans leur habitat naturel, information complète est disponible sur notre Dolphin Swim programmes page.

La baie de Banderas est également une reproduction important et aire de mise bas des baleines à bosse. De Décembre à Mars, au voisinage de Puerto Vallarta, baleines sont souvent natation et le saut dans les eaux turquoises de la baie de Banderas repérés. Ces belles créatures incroyablement traitent souvent des observateurs à leurs violations, chansons, parades, et d'autres comportements innés. Spectateurs chanceux peuvent réellement voir un veau en train de naître, and the sweet tenderness that is shown between mothers and their calves. Government regulations protecting the whales are strictly enforced. Il existe une variété de voyagistes responsables qui fonctionnent excellente l'observation des baleines programmes pour la visualisation de ces doux géants.

Dans Puerto Vallarta et la baie de Banderas, il ya de nombreuses visites et activités et excursions qui donnent aux visiteurs d'excellentes occasions d'explorer ce domaine incroyable. Une activité must-do pour tous les amoureux de l'écologie et de la faune est un voyage à la Jardins botaniques Vallarta, 30 minutes au sud du centre-ville de Puerto Vallarta. Une autre excellente opportunité de vous immerger dans la nature est la Cora Crocodile sanctuaire El dans Nuevo Vallarta, une courte 15 mintues au nord de l'aéroport international de Puerto Vallarta (PVR). Une excellente façon de voir la canopée de la jungle est par tyrolienne, qui est une aventure passionnante et palpitante!

Amical Imprimer, PDF et Email

Ecology and Wildlife

ECOLOGY AND WILDLIFE

The Sierra Madre Occidental is a rugged mountain range that within Mexico runs from the Rio Grande de Santiago in the state of Jalisco, north through several other western Mexican states including Nayarit. This ecoregion boasts some of the richest biodiversity in North America, and contains two thirds of the standing timber in Mexico. There are 23 different species of pine and 200 species of oak. Tropical and temperate influences converge in this area to provide shelter to a unique and rich ecology and wildlife, to include 300 species of rare orchids, colorful bugainvillea (red, purple, orange, white), more than 350 species of birds, beautiful monarch butterflies, and a large number of interesting mammals and reptiles.

Ecology and Wildlife in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

The jungle vegetation throughout the Puerto Vallarta area is thick and lush, as abundant sun and summer rain produce humidity that nurtures the entire region. A diversity of trees can be found in this zone such as Amapa, Chilte, Palo de Brasil, and produce tropical strong wood (walnut, parota, cedar amapa, primavera) that can be used to make canoes and hard-wood furniture. Exotic fruit is also plentiful in this region to include coconut, pineapple, macho banana, guava, guamuchil, mango, jacka fruit, watermelon, and avocado.

Mammals native to the area include:  jaguar,  jaguarundi, black bear, ocelot, margay, white-tailed deer, armadillo, badger, racoon, coati mundi, chipmunk, deer mouse, and rock suirrel. The Mexican grizzy that once roamed these mountains are now thought to be extinct from the region, and the Mexican gray wolf is one of this area’s most endangered species.

Reptiles and amphibians flourishing in this region include:  Green iguana, spiny-tailed iguana, Mexican beaded lizard, and crocodiles. There are at least three species of rattlesnakes to include ridgenose, twin-spotted, and rock rattlers. Unique and colorful birds of interest are:  Amazon Parrots, Green Parakeet, Tropical Kingbird, Black-throated Magpie Jay, Yellow-winged Cacique, Blue-footed Booby, Great Kiskadee, Green-striped Brush Finch, Coppery-tailed Trogon, Eared Trogon, Violet-crowned Hummingbird, Mexican Jay, Spotted Owl, and the Golden Eagle.

Ecology and wildlife in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

In Banderas Bay, and the Pacific Ocean that surrounds Puerto Vallarta, marine life is abundant. There are tuna, snapper, red snapper, blue marlin, black marlin, sailfish, and seabass.  A variety of sea turtles swim the bay, and the shores of Banderas Bay are actually a turtle breeding ground. The government has established turtle conservatories and release sites, and strict laws are in place to protect these endangered animals.

Banderas Bay is a dolphin breeding area, and therefore it is very common to see bottle-nose, spotted, and dusky dolphins swimming and frolicking about near Puerto Vallarta.  Dolphins are very curious, friendly, and playful by nature.  To the delight of onlookers, dolphins will often swim alongside boats and kayaks. For viewing and interacting with dolphins in their natural habitat, complete information is available on our Dolphin Swim Programs page.

Banderas Bay is also an important breeding and calving ground for humpback whales. From December through March, in the vicinity of Puerto Vallarta, whales are often spotted swimming and leaping in the warm turquoise waters of Banderas Bay. These incredibly beautiful creatures often treat observers to their breaches, songs, courtship displays, and other innate behaviors. Lucky spectators may actually see a calf being birthed, and the sweet tenderness that is shown between mothers and their calves. Government regulations protecting the whales are strictly enforced. There are a variety of responsible tour operators that run excellent whale watching programs for viewing these gentle giants.

Within Puerto Vallarta and Banderas Bay there are numerous adventure tours and excursions which give visitors excellent opportunities to explore this incredible area. A must-do activity for all ecology and wildlife lovers is a trip to the Vallarta Botanical Gardens, 30 minutes south of downtown Puerto Vallarta. Another excellent opportunity to immerse yourself in nature is the El Cora Crocodile Sanctuary in Nuevo Vallarta, a short 15 mintues north of Puerto Vallarta’s international airport (PVR). An excellent way to view the jungle canopy is by zip line, which is an exciting and thrilling adventure!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email