Locations Conseils

CONSEILS DE VACANCES

A U.S. passport is needed to travel to Puerto Vallarta

Un passeport est nécessaire pour Voyage à Puerto Vallarta, Mexique.

Félicitations pour votre décision de se rendre à Puerto Vallarta! Dans cette page, vous trouverez quelques conseils de vacances qui feront de vos fabuleuses vacances.

En raison de sa facilité d'accès, la sécurité des touristes, nombre incroyable d'équipements et le climat presque parfait, Puerto Vallarta, Le Mexique reste l'une des destinations les plus populaires de vacances internationaux en Amérique du Nord. For most that travel to Puerto Vallarta by plane it’s a fairly short flight, avec de nombreux vols directs disponibles depuis les principaux aéroports. Et de plus Americaines. and Canadian cities you’ll find the flight times are reasonably short. Si au départ de San Francisco, Californie ou Dallas, Texas le vol est d'environ trois heures. Pour ceux qui voyagent à Puerto Vallarta à partir de New York, Chicago, Seattle, Calgary, Vancouver, et Toronto, le vol dure environ 4.5 heures. Idéalement, Puerto Vallarta, Le Mexique a son propre aéroport international, Gustavo Diaz Ordaz (PVR) qui a une équipe de l'immigration génial en place qui est comme une machine bien huilée et traite arrivées très rapidement. C'est une expérience très bienvenue pour tous ceux qui voyagent à Puerto Vallarta et sommes ravis de sortir de l'aéroport et de commencer officiellement leur vacances tant attendues.

Aéroport moderne de Puerto Vallarta (PVR) a été récemment rénové et offre de nombreux services importants à faire Voyage à Puerto Vallarta pratique, voyageur amical, et efficace. Bien qu'il n'y ait pas d'hôtel sur place, il ya le wifi gratuit dans tout l'aéroport, agences de location de voitures, services de change, distributeurs automatiques de billets de banque (HSBC, Banque Scotia, Banorte, et Bancomer), boutiques de souvenirs et des restaurants à inclure de Carl Jr., Starbucks, Sbarro, Henry J. Haricots Bar & Gril, et restaurant Wings en plus à d'autres. L'aéroport de PVR est idéalement situé très près de nombreux grands hôtels de la région, propriétés de villégiature et des complexes de condos. Une fois votre avion atterrit, rendre à votre hébergement de vacances est rapide et facile. Il ya une abondance de taxis en attente à l'aéroport pour transporter les nouveaux arrivants. Pour votre confort, nous avons une liste de cours les tarifs des taxis aéroport.

8 CONSEILS DE VOYAGE POUR TROUVER Billets à bas prix

Voyage à Puerto Vallarta

Voyage à Puerto Vallarta

1. Effacer le cache et les cookies du navigateur: Pour éviter les sites de voyage et de réservation de suivi de vos recherches antérieures pour les billets d'avion et d'afficher des taux plus élevés sur de nouvelles recherches, effacer le cache et les cookies de votre ordinateur entre les recherches et / ou utiliser différents navigateurs. Une autre option est d'utiliser une fenêtre de navigation privée pour faire voyage et billets d'avion des recherches.

2. Envisager une brève escale plutôt qu'un vol direct: Offres de billets d'avion à bas prix entraînent souvent une brève escale. Pour les escales, nous vous recommandons de laisser au moins un espace de deux heures entre l'arrivée à un aéroport et d'embarquer sur votre prochain vol au départ de Puerto Vallarta. Cela est particulièrement pertinent lors de l'utilisation de US Airways pour votre vol de retour comme il ya beaucoup de congestion à l'immigration; si vous avez moins d'une escale de deux heures, vous pouvez réellement manquer votre vol de correspondance.

3. vols de recherche via plusieurs voies: Pour Voyage à Puerto Vallarta quelques-uns des meilleurs tarifs se trouvent sur Kayak.com ou directement sur les sites des grands transporteurs aériens.

4. Utilisez différents supports avec un sens réservations: Recherchez vos vols aller-retour de sélection. Ensuite, la recherche de ces mêmes vols avec Voyage à sens unique. Plutôt que de réserver un vol aller-retour, de nombreuses fois, vous pouvez trouver de meilleures offres lors de la réservation Voyage d'une manière à Puerto Vallarta avec un vol aller simple séparée à la maison. Plus, il est souvent moins cher d'utiliser différents transporteurs aériens pour chaque billet aller simple.

5. Voyage du livre pour deux séparément: Lors de la recherche pour Voyage à Puerto Vallarta il est parfois moins cher de réserver les billets d'avion individuellement, un passager à la fois au lieu de deux. C'est très étrange, mais réservant parfois les deux billets d'avion séparément peut vous faire économiser de l'argent!

6. Si possible, être flexible avec vos dates: Nous avons trouvé les meilleures offres de billets d'avion lors de la réservation Voyage à Puerto Vallarta 6 à 8 semaines avant la date de notre Voyage souhaitée. Mais ne pas attendre la dernière minute pour réserver les billets d'avion comme tend à augmenter dans les deux semaines du départ.

7. Réserver à mardi à 3 p.m. EST: Cette grande pointe a été recueilli par nos amis de l'agent de Voyage. Compagnies aériennes ont tendance à publier leurs ventes de billets d'avion à ce moment particulier. Évitez la réservation le week-end que les prix sont souvent plus élevés.

8. Moins cher Jour de Voyage est un mercredi: Voyage à Puerto Vallarta avec le moins cher le billet d'avion en réservant un vol de nuit le mercredi. Mains vers le bas, Mercredi Voyage à Puerto Vallarta est le moins cher. Vous pouvez trouver d'autres options de billets d'avion pas cher en recherche de vols qui partent à l'heure du déjeuner ou après 5 p.m.

GILBERT’S VACATION TIPS FOR TRAVEL TO PV

Mexique formulaire immigration

Mexique formulaire immigration / Visa touristique

Assurez-vous de voyager à Puerto Vallarta avec un stylo à encre et avoir facilement accessible à bord de l'avion. Lorsque vous approchez de votre destination au Mexique les agents de bord de l'avion seront fournir aux voyageurs avec deux formulaires à remplir: un Mexique formulaire d'immigration (visa de touriste) et un la forme de la coutume. Remplissez-les sur le plan. Ne tardez pas à les remplir plus tard, quand vous arrivez à l'aéroport ou il être un problème complet que vous ne serez pas autorisé à aller de l'avant pour le domaine de l'immigration avec les autres arrivées et seront transportés de côté pour remplir les formulaires. Lorsque vous atterrissez au Mexique, vous aurez besoin du formulaire d'immigration rempli et le formulaire de la coutume en plus de votre passeport. Quand vous passez par l'agent d'immigration fédéral tamponner votre formulaire d'immigration, déchirer la forme en deux, part de sauvegarder la plus petite partie de la forme, et vous donner le message d'accueil: Bienvenue au Mexique! Il est important que vous conserviez cette petite forme et le fixer avec votre passeport dans un endroit sûr comme ce petit talon est votre visa touristique. Donc, pour souligner à nouveau ce point: Lorsque vous voyagez à Puerto Vallarta, Mexique assurez-vous que vous ne perdez pas ou égarez votre visa touristique! En plus d'une amende de $400 pesos, certains touristes ont signalé que c'est une vraie galère pour le faire remplacer et ils ont été tellement stressé parce que ils ont presque manqué leur vol, tandis que d'autres ont dit qu'il faut seulement 10 minutes à l'aéroport pour prendre soin de la question. D'une manière ou d'une autre, juste être très prudent avec ce que vous n'avez pas à savoir de première main si un visa de touriste perdu est difficile à remplacer! Après être passé par l'immigration, les voyageurs se dirigent ensuite directement à la zone de récupération des bagages. Si vous avez besoin d'installations sanitaires, il ya des toilettes sur le côté gauche, juste avant l'entrée / crique où les bureaux de change de devises sont et avant d'arrondir le virage vers la zone de bagages.

Déclaration de douane

Déclaration de douane

Après avoir ramassé vos valises au carrousel à bagages, vous serez alors rejoindre l'une des nombreuses lignes qui se forment à passer par le point de contrôle douanier. Que vous voyagiez à Puerto Vallarta ou une autre destination du Mexique, le montant maximal de la monnaie que vous êtes autorisé à apporter au Mexique est $10,000 USD. All suitcases and other items are put on a short conveyor belt and go through an x-ray machine. Au point de la bande transporteuse de sortie vous prenez vos bagages et êtes demandé si vous avez quelque chose à déclarer. Vous devez leur faire savoir si vous apportez de nouveaux éléments dans le pays, et vous devez être très honnête au sujet de leur valeur. Actuellement aucun frais de douane sont dus sur les nouveaux biens évalués à $300 USD ou moins. Cette attribution est au-dessus et au-delà de vos objets personnels tels que des vêtements, articles de toilette, valises, un ordinateur portable, etc. Cependant, si le montant des nouveaux éléments que vous apportez dans dépasse la limite autorisée libre d'impôt, alors vous serez tenu de payer les droits (taxes douanières) sur la valeur excédant cette limite supérieure. (Conseil utile: Lorsque vous voyagez à Puerto Vallarta avec des cadeaux pour d'autres personnes ou avec des objets pour meubler votre condo de vacances, it’s advisable to have a complete written listing of all items and their value on an easily readable cover sheet with all support documents or invoices attached.) Les agents des douanes sont principalement concernés par les éléments étant mis en Mexique à vendre, et surtout les ordinateurs et l'électronique qui sont les articles très coûteux au Mexique par rapport aux États-Unis. et le Canada. Vous serez alors invité à appuyer sur un bouton qui s'allume soit une lumière verte ou rouge, et si la lumière devient rouge ou vert est complètement aléatoire. Si vous appuyez sur le bouton et la lumière passe au vert, vous serez alors en mesure de procéder sur vers le hall de sortie. Cependant, si la lumière devient rouge, vous devrez procéder à une zone où les agents des douanes ouvrent vos pièces de bagages et de recherche à travers eux pour s'assurer que vous n'êtes pas apporter dans les éléments illégaux ou des nouveaux éléments qui s'élèvent à plus de la taxe alloué sans limite de dollar.

Bienvenue à Puerto Vallarta, Mexique

Bienvenue à Puerto Vallarta, Mexique!

En quittant le domaine des douanes et de procéder à l'aéroport, les voyageurs traversent une zone de multipropriété clos souvent désigné comme le “réservoir de requin.” Mais au cours de la dernière année les personnes de ventes dans ce secteur de la multipropriété ont été moins intense, de sorte qu'il peut à présent être décrite comme étant plus d'une “réservoir de dauphin.” Il s'agit d'une très courte zone (probablement sur 40-50 pieds de longueur) avec une large allée qui a multipropriété représentants officiels très prospectifs ventes sur les deux côtés dans l'espoir d'attirer votre attention dans les coulisses, avec de nombreux essayant souvent de convaincre les arrivées qu'ils doivent arrêter et divulguer leur destination finale hôtel afin qu'ils puissent être offerts transport à prix réduit et recevoir gratuitement des cartes de la région. Heureusement, ces vendeurs ne sont pas autorisés à franchir dans le centre de l'allée. Sauf si vous êtes sérieusement intéressé à perdre plusieurs heures de votre précieux temps de vacances, ne pas s'engager dans une conversation avec ces personnes de ventes en temps partagé. Et ne les confondez pas pour les représentants de transport de votre station, parce qu'ils ne sont pas. Il suffit de roue vos bagages à travers le centre de l'allée de cette zone sans contact visuel avec eux, ou si nécessaire juste dire “needs a context, Merci.” Ne vous arrêtez pas sur votre chemin vers le point de sortie à moins, bien sûr, vous voyez une belle hôtesse qui est souvent stationné près du point de sortie offrant Margaritas libres de vous accueillir à Puerto Vallarta! Autrement, garder diriger vers les portes coulissantes en verre qui mènent au hall de réception de l'arrivée où les représentants réels de votre station ou agence de location de voiture peuvent être titulaires d'un signe pour votre transport pré-arrangé. Au-delà du hall de réception arrivées des portes donnant sur l'extérieur. Le parking de l'aéroport est sur deux voies, puis juste au-delà et derrière le dépanneur OXXO. Si vous recevez de l'aide à bagages de l'un des nombreux porteurs de l'aéroport utiles qui sont en attente pour aider les nouveaux arrivants, il est important de noter qu'ils travaillent pour des conseils seulement. Donc, si vous utilisez leurs précieux services, n'oubliez pas de les remercier et de leur donner un pourboire bien.

Si vous voyagez à Puerto Vallarta sans avoir transport pré-arrangé à votre hôtel, qui n'est pas un problème! Il existe trois compagnies de taxi aéroport en attendant de vous fournir des services de transport. Dans le hall de réception de l'aéroport de simplement faire la queue à l'une des deux cabines de taxi d'acheter un billet à votre destination. Les deux cabines de taxi vendent des billets pour les trois compagnies de taxi. Les tarifs des taxis sont fixés les taux par zone (distance de l'aéroport) et ne sont pas négociables. Reportez-vous à la Transport section pour une mise à jour (2014) liste des tarifs des taxis par zone. Aien que certains des modes les plus commodes de transport de l'aéroport prennent un taxi ou van aéroport, ou autobus et / ou navettes fournies par votre station tournée pratiques, beaucoup d'autres voyageurs préfèrent louer une voiture. Il ya beaucoup de agence de location de voiture compteurs à l'aéroport d'inclure Alamo, Hertz, Budget, Économe, Europcar, U Save, Fox Rent-A-Car, Avis, Dollar, et National. Avant de signer un contrat de location, assurez-vous de lire les petits caractères. Pour ceux qui voyagent à Puerto Vallarta souvent, Gecko est devenue l'une des agences de location de voitures les plus préférés dans la région en raison de leur honnêteté et de loyauté des pratiques commerciales. Les visiteurs fréquents sont conscients d'un tas d'expériences négatives qui ont eu lieu avec d'autres agences de location de voitures, il est donc, une fois mordu deux fois timide.

Des bus publics sont également disponibles directement en face de la rue de l'aéroport, sous le pont piétonnier qui traverse la route. Mais si vous voyagez avec juste un petit sac à main ou sac à dos alors ce serait un énorme problème et de courtoisie à la fois vous et les autres que les bus sont souvent bourré de fréquentation. Mais si vous voulez prendre un bus, attendre soit un bus ATM ou bus Compostelle. Les destinations sont écrites sur le pare-brise de chaque bus, mais avant que vous montez sur le bus assurez-vous de vérifier verbalement avec le conducteur que son itinéraire de bus comprend votre destination. En plus de taxis et de voitures de location, il ya quelques entreprises locales qui offrent des services de transport privé par les gros véhicules confortables. Et s'il vous plaît gardez à l'esprit que chaque fois que vous recevez de l'aide avec vos bagages, il est de coutume au Mexique de laisser un pourboire.

Comme des milliers de touristes découvrent chaque année, Voyage à Puerto Vallarta est rapide, facile, coffre-fort, et très agréable!

Pour ceux qui arrivent à l'aéroport pour prendre un ami ou un parent, vous aurez envie de porter une montre ou un téléphone cellulaire qui affiche l'heure. Il est assez étrange, mais dans la section des arrivées de l'aéroport il n'y a pas grande horloge affichant le temps. Et c'est un tracas d'avoir à dépendre de demander aux gens autour de vous à quelle heure il est.

Upper Floor of Puerto Vallarta Mexico Airport PVR

L'aéroport de Puerto Vallarta (PVR)

Carl's Jr. Restaurant in PVR Airport Puerto Vallarta Mexico

Carl Jr. Aéroport PVR, 2e étage

PVR Aiport Puerto Vallarta Mexico Duty Free Shops

PVR Airport Duty Free Shops, 2e étage

Quand il est temps de laisser votre station ou un condo et retourner à l'aéroport pour votre vol de retour, for international flights it’s suggested that you check in at the airline counter three hours in advance. Si vous arrivez à l'aéroport, sans assez de temps, you risk not only losing your flight, but there is the distinct possibility you may miss the cut-off point for being able to check in your luggage on the same flight you’re boarding for home. Donc, être conscient du temps et ne pas risquer de couper que près. Lorsque vous entrez dans l'aéroport, be sure you have your passport and visa ready for use at the kiosk or with an airline attendant. Et si vous vérifiez dans les bagages de votre compagnie aérienne et exige des frais pour les check-ins, be sure to have your credit card handy so you don’t hold up the line of travelers waiting behind you as you search through your bags for that.

Si vous êtes arrivé à l'aéroport avec suffisamment de temps pour profiter un dernier repas à Puerto Vallarta, il ya plusieurs restaurants à l'aéroport à l'étage où vous pouvez avoir un repas rapide ou boire avant votre vol: Carl’s Jr., Starbucks, Sbarro, Henry J. Haricots Bar & Gril, Wings Restaurant, et quelques autres. Il ya aussi beaucoup de boutiques duty-free où vous pouvez passer un peu de shopping pour ramasser un livre intéressant à lire sur votre vol, une bouteille de votre parfum préféré, bijoux en argent, un T-shirt ou un chapeau, bouteille de liqueur, CD de musique, Objets d'artisanat mexicains tels que des poupées colorées ou de belles pièces d'art Huichol, ou un autre souvenir de dernière minute ou un cadeau à ramener chez soi.

Avec toute l'expérience que vous gagnerez lors de ce voyage, la prochaine fois que vous voyagez à Puerto Vallarta vous vous sentirez comme un pro!

PASSPORTS ARE REQUIRED FOR TRAVEL TO PV

Passeport Canada

Passeport Canada

informations de demande de passeport pour Americaines. citoyens qui prévoient se rendre à Puerto Vallarta:

  • AMÉRICANO. Département d'État – Bureau des affaires consulaires: Travel.State.Gov

informations de demande de passeport pour les citoyens canadiens qui prévoient se rendre à Puerto Vallarta:

CROISIÈRE CALENDRIER

Visiteurs chevronnés qui voyagent à Puerto Vallarta savent que pendant les jours les navires de croisière sont au port, les prix des souvenirs sont souvent beaucoup plus élevé que la normale. Lorsque les vendeurs ont un flux important de clients de remplir leurs stands, ils ne sont pas enclins à vendre leurs belles marchandises à la baisse des prix que les touristes sont normalement capables de négocier ces éléments vers le bas au moment où l'afflux de visiteurs à Puerto Vallarta n'est pas aussi grande.

Lorsque deux ou trois navires de croisière sont prévues d'être au port au même moment, la plupart des voyages d'aventure ont tendance à se vendre rapidement. Ainsi, lorsque vous faites des plans pour Voyage à Puerto Vallarta et vous avez votre coeur sur l'expérience des visites spécifiques et des activités d'aventure au cours de votre voyage, c'est une bonne idée d'être au courant des dates d'arrivée des navires de croisière. Cela vous aidera à mettre sur pied un calendrier souhaité d'excursions pour vos prochaines vacances, et vous pouvez faire des réservations touristiques en conséquence. Here is the 2019 Port de Vallarta bateau de croisière annexe Puerto.

CONNECT WITH US ON FACEBOOK AND PINTEREST!

Facebook: Visitez Vallarta-

Pinterest: Visitez Vallarta-

 

Amical Imprimer, PDF et Email

Vacation Tips

VACATION TIPS

A U.S. passport is needed to travel to Puerto Vallarta

A passport is needed for travel to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.

Congratulations on your decision to travel to Puerto Vallarta! In this page you will find some great vacation tips that will make your vacation fabulous.

Due to its easy accessibility, tourist safety, incredible number of amenities and near-perfect climate, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico remains one of the most popular international vacation destinations in North America. For most that travel to Puerto Vallarta by plane it’s a fairly short flight, with many direct flights available from major airports. And from most U.S. and Canadian cities you’ll find the flight times are reasonably short. If departing from San Francisco, California or Dallas, Texas the flight is about three hours. For those who travel to Puerto Vallarta from New York, Chicago, Seattle, Calgary, Vancouver, and Toronto the flight takes approximately 4.5 hours. Conveniently, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico has its own international airport, Gustavo Diaz Ordaz (PVR) which has an awesome immigration team in place that is like a fine-oiled machine and processes arrivals very quickly. This is a very welcome experience for all who travel to Puerto Vallarta and are excited to depart the airport and officially begin their long-awaited vacation.

Puerto Vallarta’s  modern airport (PVR) has been recently remodeled and offers many important services to make travel to Puerto Vallarta convenient, traveler friendly, and efficient. Although there is no hotel onsite, there is free wifi throughout the airport, rental car agencies, currency exchange services, bank ATMs (HSBC, Scotiabank, Banorte, and Bancomer), souvenir shops and some restaurants to include Carl’s Jr., Starbucks, Sbarro, Henry J. Beans Bar & Grill, and Wings Restaurant in addition to others. The PVR airport is conveniently located very close to many of the area’s major hotels, resort properties and condo complexes. Once your plane lands, getting to your vacation accommodation is quick and easy. There are an abundance of taxi cabs waiting at the airport to transport new arrivals. For your convenience we have a listing of current airport taxi rates.

8 TRAVEL TIPS FOR FINDING CHEAP AIRFARE

Travel to Puerto Vallarta

Travel to Puerto Vallarta

1. Clear your cache and browser cookies: To avoid travel and booking sites from tracking your earlier searches for airfare and displaying higher rates on new searches, clear your computer’s cache and cookies between searches and/or use different browsers. Another option is to use an incognito window for doing travel and airfare searches.

2. Consider a brief layover rather than a direct flight: Cheap airfare deals often entail a brief layover. For layovers we recommend leaving at least a two-hour gap between arrival at one airport and boarding your next flight to Puerto Vallarta. This is especially pertinent when using US Airways for your return flight as there is a lot of congestion at immigration; if you have less than a two-hour layover you can actually miss your connecting flight.

3. Research flights via multiple avenues: For travel to Puerto Vallarta some of the best rates are found on Kayak.com or directly through the websites of major airline carriers.

4. Use different carriers with one-way bookings: Search for your flights selecting round trip. Then search for those same flights with one-way travel. Rather than booking a round-trip flight, many times you can find better deals when booking one-way travel to Puerto Vallarta with a separate one-way flight back home. Additionally, it’s often cheaper to use different airline carriers for each one-way ticket.

5. Book travel for two separately: When searching for travel to Puerto Vallarta sometimes it’s cheaper to book airfare individually, one passenger at a time instead of two. It’s very strange but sometimes booking the two airfare tickets separately can save you money!

6. If possible, be flexible with your dates: We’ve found the best airfare deals when booking travel to Puerto Vallarta 6 to 8 weeks prior to our desired travel date. But don’t wait until the last minute to book as airfare tends to rise within two weeks of departure.

7. Book at Tuesdays at 3 p.m. EST: This great tip was garnered through our travel agent friends. Airlines tend to publish their airfare sales at this particular time. Avoid booking on weekends as prices are often higher.

8. Cheapest Day to Travel is on a Wednesday: Travel to Puerto Vallarta with the cheapest airfare by booking a red-eye flight on a Wednesday. Hands down, Wednesday travel to Puerto Vallarta is the cheapest. You can find other cheap airfare options by searching for flights that depart around lunch time or after 5 p.m.

GILBERT’S VACATION TIPS FOR TRAVEL TO PV

Mexico Immigration Form

Mexico Immigration Form / Tourist Visa

Be sure to travel to Puerto Vallarta with an ink pen and have it readily accessible aboard the plane. As you near your destination in Mexico the airplane’s flight attendants will provide travelers with two forms to fill out: a Mexico immigration form (tourist visa) and a custom’s form. Fill them out on the plane. Do not wait to fill them out later when you arrive at the airport or it will be a complete hassle as you will not be allowed to move forward to the immigration area with the other arrivals and will be shuttled aside to fill out the forms. When you land in Mexico, you will need the completed immigration form and custom’s form in addition to your passport. When you go through immigration the federal officer will stamp your immigration form, tear the form in two, hand you back the smaller portion of the form, and give you the greeting: Welcome to Mexico! It’s important that you retain this small form and secure it along with your passport in a safe area as this little stub is your tourist visa. So to emphasize this point again: When you travel to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico make sure you do not lose or misplace your tourist visa! In addition to a fine of $400 pesos, some tourists have reported that it’s a real hassle to get it replaced and they were so stressed out because they almost missed their flight, while others have said it only takes about 10 minutes at the airport to take care of the matter. Either way, just be extra careful with it so you don’t have to find out first hand if a lost tourist visa is hard to replace! After going through immigration, travelers then head straight to the baggage claim area. If you are in need of restroom facilities, there are restrooms on the left-hand side just before the lobby/cove where the currency exchange counters are and before rounding the bend to the baggage area.

Customs Declaration

Customs Declaration

After picking up your suitcases at the luggage carousel you will then join one of several lines that are forming to go through the customs inspection point. Whether you travel to Puerto Vallarta or another Mexican destination, the maximum amount of currency you are allowed to bring into Mexico is $10,000 USD. All suitcases and other items are put on a short conveyor belt and go through an x-ray machine. At the exit point of the conveyor belt you pick up your luggage and are asked if you have something to declare. You must let them know if you are bringing any new items into the country, and you must be very honest about their value. Currently no custom taxes are due on new goods valued at $300 USD or less. This allotment is above and beyond your personal items such as clothing, toiletries, suitcases, one laptop computer, etc. However, if the amount of new items you are bringing in exceeds the allowable tax-free limit, then you will be required to pay duties (custom taxes) on the value exceeding that top limit. (Helpful tip: When you travel to Puerto Vallarta with gifts for other people or with items to furnish your vacation condo, it’s advisable to have a complete written listing of all  items and their value on an easily readable cover sheet with all support documents or invoices attached.) The customs officials are primarily concerned with items being brought into Mexico to sell, and most especially computers and electronics which are very expensive items in Mexico compared to the U.S. and Canada. You will then be asked to press a button that will illuminate either a green or red light, and whether the light turns red or green is completely random. If you push the button and the light turns green, then you will be able to proceed on toward the exit lobby. However, if the light turns red then you will be required to proceed to an area where the customs officials open up your luggage pieces and search through them to make sure you are not bringing in illegal items or any new items which amount to more than the allotted tax-free dollar limit.

Welcome to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

Welcome to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico!

Leaving the customs area and proceeding through the airport, travelers pass through an enclosed timeshare area often referred to as the “shark tank.” But over the last year the sales persons in this timeshare area have been less intense, so it can now be described as being more of a “dolphin tank.” This is a very short area (probably about 40-50 feet in length) with a wide aisle that has very official-looking timeshares sales representatives on both sides hoping to get your attention from the sidelines, with many often trying to convince arrivals that they must stop and disclose their final hotel destination so they can be offered discounted transportation and be given free maps of the area. Thankfully, these salespersons are not allowed to cross into the center of the aisle. Unless you are seriously interested in wasting several hours of your valuable vacation time, do not engage in conversation with these timeshare sales people. And do not mistake them for transportation representatives from your resort, because they are not. Simply wheel your luggage through the center of the aisle of this area without making eye contact with them, or if necessary just say “no, gracias.” Do not stop on your way to the exit point unless, of course, you see a lovely hostess who is often stationed near the exit point offering free Margaritas to welcome you to Puerto Vallarta! Otherwise, keep heading toward the sliding glass doors that lead to the arrivals reception lobby where actual representatives from your resort or rental car agency may be holding a sign for your pre-arranged transportation. Beyond the arrivals reception lobby are doors leading outside. The airport parking lot is across two lanes and then just beyond and behind the OXXO convenience store. If you receive luggage assistance from one of the many helpful airport porters that are waiting to help new arrivals, it’s important to note that they work for tips only. So if you use their valuable services, be sure to thank them and tip them well.

If you travel to Puerto Vallarta without having pre-arranged transportation to your hotel, that’s no problem! There are three airport taxi companies waiting to provide you with transportation services. In the airport reception lobby simply stand in line at one of two taxi booths to purchase a ticket to your destination. The two taxi booths sell tickets for all three taxi companies. The rates for taxis are fixed rates by zone (distance from the airport) and are non-negotiable. Refer to the Transportation section for an updated (2014) list of taxi rates by zone. Although some of the most convenient modes of transportation from the airport are taking an airport taxi or van, or convenient tour buses and/or shuttles provided by your resort, many others travelers prefer to rent a car. There are plenty of rental car agency counters at the airport to include Alamo, Hertz,  Budget, Thrifty, Europcar, U Save, Fox Rent-A-Car, Avis, Dollar, and National. Before you sign a rental contract, be sure to read the fine print. For those who travel to Puerto Vallarta often, Gecko has become one of the most preferred rental car agencies in the area because of their honesty and fair business practices. Frequent visitors are aware of a slew of negative experiences that have occurred with some of the other rental car agencies, so it’s once bitten twice shy.

Public buses are also available directly across the street from the airport, under the pedestrian bridge that crosses the highway. But unless you are traveling with just a small handbag or backpack then this would be a huge hassle and discourtesy to both yourself and others as the buses are often jam packed with ridership. But if you want to take a bus, wait for either an ATM bus or Compostella bus. The destinations are written on the windshield of each bus, but before you step onto the bus be sure to verbally verify with the driver that his bus route includes your destination. In addition to taxis and rental cars, there are a few local companies that offer private transportation services via large comfortable vehicles. And please keep in mind that whenever you receive help with your luggage it’s customary in Mexico to leave a tip.

As thousands of tourists discover each year, travel to Puerto Vallarta is quick, easy, safe, and very pleasurable!

For those arriving to the airport to pick up a friend or relative, you’ll want to bring a watch or a cell phone that displays the time. It’s pretty strange, but within the arrivals section of the airport there is no big clock displaying the time. And it’s a hassle to have to depend on asking the people around you what time it is.

Upper Floor of Puerto Vallarta Mexico Airport PVR

Puerto Vallarta Airport (PVR)

Carl's Jr. Restaurant in PVR Airport Puerto Vallarta Mexico

Carl’s Jr. in PVR Airport, 2nd Floor

PVR Aiport Puerto Vallarta Mexico Duty Free Shops

PVR Airport Duty Free Shops, 2nd Floor

When it’s time to leave your resort or condo and return to the airport for your flight home, for international flights it’s suggested that you check in at the airline counter three hours in advance. If you arrive at the airport without enough time, you risk not only losing your flight, but there is the distinct possibility you may miss the cut-off point for being able to check in your luggage on the same flight you’re boarding for home. So be mindful of the time and don’t risk cutting it that close. When you enter the airport, be sure you have your passport and visa ready for use at the kiosk or with an airline attendant. And if you’re checking in luggage and your airline charges a fee for check-ins, be sure to have your credit card handy so you don’t hold up the line of travelers waiting behind you as you search through your bags for that.

If you’ve arrived at the airport with enough time to enjoy one last meal in Puerto Vallarta, there are several restaurants at the airport on the second floor where you can have a quick meal or drink before your flight: Carl’s Jr., Starbucks, Sbarro, Henry J. Beans Bar & Grill, Wings Restaurant, and a few others. There are also plenty of duty-free shops where you can spend some time shopping to pick up an interesting book to read on your flight, a bottle of your favorite perfume, silver jewelry, a T-shirt or hat, bottle of liquor, music CDs, Mexican craft items such as colorful dolls or beautiful Huichol art pieces, or another last-minute souvenir or gift to take back home.

With all the experience you’ll gain on this trip, the next time you travel to Puerto Vallarta you’ll feel like a pro!

PASSPORTS ARE REQUIRED FOR TRAVEL TO PV

Canada Passport

Canada Passport

Passport application information for U.S. citizens planning to travel to Puerto Vallarta:

Passport application information for Canadian citizens planning to travel to Puerto Vallarta:

CRUISE SHIP SCHEDULE

Seasoned visitors who travel to Puerto Vallarta know that during the days the cruise ships are in port the prices for souvenirs are often much higher than normal. When the vendors have a large flow of customers filling their stands they are not inclined to sell their beautiful wares at the lower prices that tourists are normally able to bargain these items down to when the influx of visitors to Puerto Vallarta is not as great.

When two or three cruise ships are scheduled to be in port at the same time, many of the adventure tours tend to sell out fast. So when you’re making plans for travel to Puerto Vallarta and you have your heart set on experiencing specific tours and adventure activities during your trip, it’s a good idea to be aware of cruise ship arrival dates. This will aid you in putting together a desired schedule of excursions for your upcoming vacation, and you can make tour reservations accordingly. Here is the 2015 Port of Puerto Vallarta Cruise Ship Schedule.

CONNECT WITH US ON FACEBOOK AND PINTEREST!

Facebook: Visit-Vallarta

Pinterest:  Visit-Vallarta